A Tour! And the Last Couple Months

Sorry I haven’t written in so long.  Its been a busy last couple of months here.  School finally started!  After a few weeks of being told that school would be starting “soon”, it actually did start.  I’ve settled down into a routine, which was nice to finally have.  The Cambodian school culture is definitely different than the school culture in the US, and it has been a little hard to adjust to.  There are a ton of holidays in Cambodia.  I had my first full week of school only 3 weeks ago, despite the fact that school was supposed to start October 2nd.  It is also very common for the teachers or the students to not show up to school.  My students think its hilarious that at home students or their parents can get in legal trouble if the student is absent too many times.

Luckily, I have a lot of awesome students who are hard working and really want to learn English.  I started teaching a few after school English classes, and hope to start a girl’s basketball team soon.  We also made it past lock down (we had to stay in our provinces for the first two months), so I’ve been able to go to Phnom Pehn for the weekend a couple times and eat cheese and bask in the glory of air conditioning!  Its a really nice mini-vacation.

Well that’s all that is new.  I took a video of my village and school so you all can see.  Hope everyone has a happy Thanksgiving!

4 thoughts on “A Tour! And the Last Couple Months

  1. Wow. A personal tour. I loved seeing your town and school. The school is a lot bigger that I thought it would be too. Do students get traditional grades or graduate like here? Do parents pay or does the government. What do the students call you? Do you use visual aids and such and do you have to make them? How about supplies like paper and pencils? I am just full of questions tonight. Keep up the good work. Love you

    • Students do supposedly get traditional grades, although I have never seen a grade book and there is a serious cheating problem when it comes to tests, so I’m not sure how authentic the grades are. The government does provide some funding, but teachers will routinely ask for money to pay for copies of the monthly tests. I think the students even pay for chalk! Teachers get paid a ridiculously small amount of money, so they will teach private classes at the school for a fee. Almost all of the students attend the private classes, as well as their regular classes. I don’t usually use visual aids because it is really hard to find big sheets of paper, but I was able to bring some things like maps from home, so I use them. Students must supply their own paper, pencils and books. This becomes a huge problem because many of my students don’t have the book or won’t bring supplies, and then don’t follow along. Thanks! Love you too!

Leave a Reply

